Flavorful Experiences

Dedicated to experimenting and experiencing new ways of cooking, eating, working out, and home decor.

Chocolate Oatmeal No-Bake Protein Cookies

Sometimes, the idea to just come up with something off the cuff happens. (It happens to me quite a lot, actually.)

So, I did what any sane person would:

I made something up in the kitchen. (What, you mean you don’t do that?)

I’d been having a hankering for chocolate, and wanted to make those awesome chocolate no-bake cookies that my mom makes only at Christmas.

Here’s what I didn’t have: bakers chocolate, chocolate chips, or her recipe.

Dang.

But, here’s what I did have: chocolate protein powder, almond milk, oatmeal, and a fairly good idea of how it would be put together (I’ve made peanut butter cookie dough balls this way, what could go wrong?).

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1.5 sc chocolate protein powder (about 30 grams protein) (my favorite kind)
  • .5 sc vanilla protein powder (about 10 grams protein)
  • 1/2 cup dry oats,
  • 1tbsp peanut butter,
  • ~2 tbsp almond milk.

Blend dry ingredients in food processor/ninja, then stir in liquid.

What could go wrong? Ah, well, here’s the kicker: I added too much liquid, too quickly. So even though they took on a ball shape, there was no way I could eat them with my fingers.

Plus I took a really cruddy photo and didn’t even color balance it.

Currently, I’m completely out of chocolate protein powder. What I do have, though, is vanilla protein powder, unsweetened cocoa, chocolate chips, and a hankering… to do this again. So expect to see me experiment with it again soon, because it did actually taste pretty good, even if a bit…sticky.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2012 by in Foodie Experiences.
