Flavorful Experiences

Dedicated to experimenting and experiencing new ways of cooking, eating, working out, and home decor.

Happy Sad Garden

It has been a super-hot, dry summer in our area. Normally, we get hammered with some 90 degree temps, one or two 100+ degrees, and a vast majority of 85+ degree temps during the months of June, July and August. This year, though, we’ve been at a consistent 95-100+ degrees since the middle of June, and it doesn’t show any signs of abating. Oi.

So, of course this would be the first year I decide to have a garden!

When we bought our little house last August, one of the selling points was this little plot of a garden in the back yard, as well as a strawberry patch alongside the house. I started off this spring super excited, soliciting advice from my MIL about what to plant and when. I had so many things I wanted to plant! My MIL is awesome, and helped me be realistic about what my little plot of land could hold.

What I originally wanted:

  • Corn
  • Potatoes
  • Tomatoes
  • Kale
  • Spinach
  • Lettuce
  • Squash (spaghetti and acorn, and I would have loved some pie pumpkins)
  • Green Beans
  • Peas
  • Onion

What my little plot was able to hold (and even that was a bit packed in):

  • Potatoes (~8 plants)
  • Tomato (1 plant)
  • Kale (4 plants)
  • 2 squash
  • 2 rows green beans
  • 3 onions

I did plant two sets of spinach, but all I got was a dandelion. The tomato replaced that bare spot, and has only produced one tomato (although it now has some nice yellow flowers…). My onions died horrendously (I may not have planted them correctly…). My two spaghetti squash plants were attacked by vine borers, with one biting the dust entirely and the second one just clinging to life. Everything has been having a hard time surviving in this heat.

Vine borers. Not cool.

However, my kale has done just amazingly! We’ve been enjoying the fruits of that plant quite a bit (we adore kale chips). Our potatoes have been nice and sweet, and the green beans provide for a meal every other day or so.

As for the strawberries?

They did a great job of feeding the rabbits. We never got to them before the bunnies and birds did…

Your Experiences

What has your garden experience been like this summer? Or do you hate to garden?

4 comments on “Happy Sad Garden

  1. Jan Bovee
    July 24, 2012

    Gordy says that next year to help keep the birds out of your strawberries, try a piece of rubber hose (and move it every 2-3 days). The birds will think it is a snake and generally avoid the area. 🙂 Blood meal may help keep the bunnies out of the garden (and it will help fertilize the plants).

    • carrannmor
      July 24, 2012

      Thanks for the advice! I’ve also been told that black pepper (finely ground) may help with keeping the vine borers away. Love the tips and tricks I’ve been getting 🙂

  2. Rosa Graziadei
    July 24, 2012

    Your garden looks so great I’m just starting mine but it is super similar to yours! take a look… http://rosagraziadei.wordpress.com/

    • carrie
      July 24, 2012

      It’s awesome that you started yours this summer too! What an experience, huh? Yours does look like mine!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 24, 2012 by in Other Experiences and tagged .
