Flavorful Experiences

Dedicated to experimenting and experiencing new ways of cooking, eating, working out, and home decor.

Cookie Dough-aholic

I’ll be the first to admit it. I LOVE cookie dough. I get cravings for it like you wouldn’t believe, and while most often I can put them off, they WILL stick around for days on end (I’m like that with ice cream, too…). Since cookie dough is oh-so-not-good for keeping muscles happy and streamlined, I tend to make sure I stay far- FAR away.

But when I saw this recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie I knew I was done for.

Sheer Amazing-ness.

What’s a chocolate chip cookie dough-aholic to do? There’s no way to resist that awesomeness.

So, off I went to the store to pick up white beans and pure vanilla extract.

My first experiment with it wasn’t great. It was thin and didn’t really have the full taste of cookie dough, but it did have enough of the sweetness that my cravings were killed and I did eat the entire thing in three sittings.

Here’s how I made it:

  • 1 can butter beans, drained (but not rinsed)
  • 1/8 tsp plus 1/16 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda, unleveled
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (Peter Pan creamy)
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp oats
  • 1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

I put all ingredients except the chocolate chips into the food processor, then blended until smooth. My changes from Katie’s recipe were the beans (canned garbanzos don’t seem to exist in my area, and I never am patient enough to set chickpeas in water and let them soak) and the peanut butter (she called for nut butter, and did say that pb would create a slight pb flavor-which it did).

So, that one was okay, but not great. I knew I could do better.

Cookie Dough Take Two

Then, I DID it! I made awesome in a jar. And I will again bow at the shrine of Katie (yes, her blog IS that awesome). The cookie dough made the second time was spot-on, and only got better with time.

What were the changes?

For one, I used my Ninja with the small bowl instead of the food processor. I just love my Ninja. It has seen nearly daily use since I got it about three months ago.

Second, I used raw almonds instead of peanut butter. I didn’t count them out exactly, but there were ~30 pieces.

Third, I used just a tad more salt.

Fourth, I used just a tad more baking soda.

And finally, I used about 1/3 cup of quick-oats instead of 2 tbsp of my slow cook oatmeal.

It TASTED like cookie dough, it SMELLED like cookie dough, and it LOOKED like cookie dough. And now for the best part: as it sat out, it started tasting even more like the real thing. The next day, and I can’t even tell the difference between my stuff and the real thing.

Cookie Dough Take Two Recipe:

  • 1 can butter beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/8 tsp plus 1/16 tsp salt, don’t be exact
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda, unleveled (tad more)
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 30 raw almonds
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup quick oats
  • 1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

I’m done for.

Your Experiences

Do you have a food you just can’t stay away from? What alternatives have you found to combat a craving?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 24, 2012 by in Foodie Experiences.
